60 villages in Myaing Township get access to power supply


Celebrations were held to mark a total of 60 villages in Myaing Township of Magway region have access to power supply in coincidence with the 50 percent of national electrification in the country.

The ceremony in Myaing Township was attended by Magway Region Chief Minister Dr Aung Moe Nyo, Deputy Minister for Electricity and Energy U Khin Maung Win, Chief Legal Officer U San Lin, Regional Minister for Natural Resources, Environmental Conservation, Electricity and Energy U Myint Zaw, Regional Hluttaw MPs U Thet Naing and U Win Htay.

The Chief Minister delivered a speech at the ceremony.

Deputy Minister for Electricity and Energy U Khin Maung Win said that total power consumption in Magway Region is just about 100 megawatt for 12,404 households in 60 villages.

In the past, some of the towns in the region achieved electricity from diesel-powered generators, and these areas could connect the national grid in 2016.

The Ministry will construct two 66 kV sub-stations in Myaing and Yesagyo townships this fiscal year, and working for electrification at 664 villages in the first phase and 386 villages in the second phase.

After completing all these projects, the power consumption in Magway will rise to 55.26 per cent from the present 35.94.

The Deputy Minister also called for coordination of the public in the nationwide electrification programme to promote socioeconomic status of the people.

The Chief Minister and party also attended similar ceremonies held at Thamankanvillage and Tegyi village of Myaing Township.


(Translated by Aung Khin)

Photo – MNA

Ref; The Global New Light of Myanmar

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

scroll to top